Macnab Lecture

An outstanding researcher, teacher and orthopaedic surgeon, Dr. Ian Macnab contributed significantly to orthopaedics in Canada. Following his passing in 1992 an educational lectureship was named in his honour, with the first lecture delivered by Dr. E.H. Simmons in 1994. The lectureship series continues on to this day with the Macnab Lecture presented annually during the Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society’s (CORS) program during the Canadian Orthopaedic Association’s (COA) Annual Meeting.

Ian Macnab Memorial Lecturers

1994 Edward H. Simmons Buffalo, NY
1995 Carroll A. Laurin Montreal, QC
1996 John A. McCulloch Akron, OH
1997 David E. Hastings Toronto, ON
1998 André Beaupré Quebec, QC
1999 Robert W. Jackson Dallas, TX
2000 James P. Waddell Toronto, ON
2001 Joseph Schatzker Toronto, ON
2002 Cecil H. Rorabeck London, ON
2003 Laura I. Tosi Washington, DC
2004 Reinhold Ganz Bern, Switzerland
2005 None
2006 Marc F. Swiontkowski Minneapolis, MD
2007 James Kellam Charlotte, NC
2008 None
2009 Louis Bigliani New York, NY
2010 James G. Wright Toronto, ON
2011 Randy Ellis Kingston, ON
2012 John B. Medley Toronto, ON
2013 Cyril B. Frank Calgary, AB
2014 Joshua Leon Halifax, NS
2015 Rob G.H.H. Nelissen Leiden, The Netherlands
2016 Jacques de Guise Montreal, QC
2017 Hani Awad Rochester, NY
2018 David Hunter Sydney, Australia
2019 Mauro Alini Davos, Switzerland
2020 Cari Whyne Toronto, ON
2021 None
2022 Frank Beier London, ON
2023 Walter Herzog Calgary, AB