Announcing Research Award Recipients

Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation

The Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation is pleased to announce that the Board of Directors has approved funding for the following research awards:

J. Édouard Samson Award

Dr. Diane Nam (Toronto, ON) – “The molecular and cellular mediation of fracture healing: from the bench to the bedside”

Special Awards

Carroll A. Laurin Award, recognizing excellence in clinical research:

Drs. Geoffrey Ng and Ryan Degen (London, ON) – Muscle Functional Characteristics After Femoroacetabular Impingement Syndrome Surgery

Robert B. Salter Award, recognizing excellence in basic science research:

Dr. Hesham Abdelbary (Ottawa, ON) – Investigating the feasibility of utilizing bacteriophages as a novel diagnostic platform for the rapid detection of slow growing organisms causing peri-prosthetic joint infections

Cy Frank Award, recognizing excellence in innovation:

Dr. Mina Wahba Morcos (Montreal, QC) – “Randomized, Controlled trial Comparing the effectiveness of two different perioperative analgesia techniques: Continuous Adductor Canal Block to Single- shot Adductor Canal block in Outpatient Total Knee Arthroplasty Surgery”

Canadian Orthopaedic Research Legacy (CORL) Grants

Drs. Andrea Chan and Ryan Paul (Toronto, ON) – “The Effect of Topical TRanexamic Acid vs. Placebo on Acute Postoperative Pain following Distal Radius Fracture Fixation: A Randomized Controlled Trial – The TRADR Study”

Dr. Andrew Glennie (Halifax, NS) – A pilot study comparing two different surgical approaches (midline versus paramedian) to the lumbar spine for treatment of degenerative spinal conditions

Drs. Vickas Khanna and Mauricio Forero (Hamilton, ON) – A Randomized Controlled Trial Comparing the Efficacy of a Three-Point Versus a Six-Point Genicular Nerve Radiofrequency Ablation for Chronic Knee Osteoarthritis

Dr. Ian Lo (Calgary, AB) – Clinical and cost effectiveness of rotator cuff augmentation with human dermal allograft versus bovine collagen xenograft patch: a randomized controlled trial

Drs. David J. Stockton and Wei Ting (Alice) Wang (Vancouver, BC) – Prednisone for the prevention of complex regional pain syndrome after distal radius fracture – A pilot study

Dr. Jarret Woodmass (Winnipeg, MB) – Comparing the Efficacy of a Subacromial Balloon Spacer (SBS) versus Rotator Cuff Repair (RCR) Surgery in Older Adults: a multi-centre pilot randomized control trial

All applications are reviewed and ranked by the Foundation’s Research Review Panel. Click here for further details about the COF’s research program.

The research program is made possible thanks to the generous support of surgeons, industry partners and individual donors, and is largely supported through the Powering Pain Free Movement campaign. Special thanks to our funding partners.