New COF President, Board

Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation

The Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation elected its Board for the next year at its AGM on July 18, 2018.

Dr. Geoffrey Johnston (Royal University Hospital, Saskatoon) completed his term as President and Chair of the Board. Under Dr. Johnston’s leadership, the Foundation made a large switch in focus: at the urging of the COA Executive three years ago the COF grew its research program significantly, while continuing to offer education and care programs. Dr. Johnston was elected to a two-year term as Past Chair.

Dr. Pierre Guy (Diamond Healthcare Centre, Vancouver) was elected as President and Chair of the Board. Dr. Guy has just completed his term as Vice Chair of the Board.

Other officers elected are:

Dr. Hans Kreder (Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto) Vice Chair
Mr. Michael Spears (Toronto), Secretary
Ms. Kathryn Smith (Burlington) continues as Treasurer

Dr. Stewart Wright (Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto) retired from the Board after serving the maximum 9 years. Dr. Wright chaired the COF’s Medical and Scientific Review Committee and led the Foundation’s efforts to create its educational resources. As chair of the Governance and Nominating Committee Dr. Wright made sure that the Board held itself to the highest level of governance, conducting the annual Board Evaluations and ensuring a strong roster of Directors for election at each AGM. Dr. Wright demonstrated his commitment to the COF mandate as a long-time supporter of the Foundation’s fundraising programs.

Dr. Suhkdeep Dulai was elected to the Board. Dr. Dulai is a Paediatric Orthopaedic Surgeon at Stollery Children’s Hospital (Edmonton, AB) and an Associate Professor in the Department of Surgery at the University of Alberta. She is also the current President of the Canadian Paediatric Orthopaedic Group (CPOG).

Bios of all Directors can be found at