Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation Announces Additional Research Program Expansion

Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation

We are pleased to announce that the COF’s research program continues to expand thanks to the Foundation’s generous donors.

Through the 2017 research competition, the Board of Directors approved funding for three special named awards:  the Carroll A. Laurin Award, Robert B. Salter Award, and the inaugural Cy Frank Award. In addition, the Board approved a total of six CORL awards; and the J. Edouard Samson Award. All will be presented at the COA AGM in Victoria on June 20, 2018.

Award recipients are:

J. Edouard Samson Award recognizing the best career orthopaedic research over a period of five years or more:

     Dr. Kishore Mulpuri (Vancouver, BC) – “A Prospective, International Hip Dysplasia Registry with Follow-up to Skeletal Maturity: An Analysis of Risk Factors, Screening Practices and Treatment Outcomes”

Carroll A. Laurin Award for excellence in clinical orthopaedic research:

     Dr. Paul E. Beaulé and Dr. Stéphane Poitras (Ottawa, ON) – “Efficacy of a non-surgical treatment protocol for patients with symptomatic femoro-acetabular impingement: a randomized controlled trial”

Robert B. Salter Award for excellence in basic science research:

     Dr. Michael J. Monument (Calgary, AB) – “rhBMP-2 in bone sarcoma surgery: Does BMP-2 signalling in mouse models of osteosarcoma influence tumour biology?”

Inaugural Cy Frank Award recognizing excellence in innovation. This new award is presented in conjunction with the Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society (CORS):

     Dr. Bas A. Masri, Dr. David R. Wilson and Dr. David J. Stockton (Vancouver, BC) – “Reliability of Cartilage Mapping Using Upright Open MRI in Patients with ACL Injuries”

Canadian Orthopaedic Research Legacy (CORL) Grants:

     Dr. Ryan Degen (London, ON) – “A kinematic analysis of the hip following injury and repair of the capsule and labrum”

     Dr. Laurie A. Hiemstra (Banff, AB) – “SHould You transFer the Tubercle? (The SHYFT Trial) – A Randomized Clinical Trial comparing Isolated MPFL Reconstruction to MPFL combined with Tibial Tubercle Osteotomy – A Pilot Study”

     Dr. Moin Khan (Hamilton, ON) – Shoulder instability Trial comparing Arthroscopic stabilization Benefits compared with Latarjet procedure Evaluation (STABLE)”

     Dr. Ian Lo (Calgary, AB) – “Graft reconstruction for irreparable rotator cuff tears: superior capsule reconstruction vs. tendon repair with graft interposition”

     Dr. Peter MacDonald and Dr. Jeff Leiter (Winnipeg, MB) – “Number One Overall Graft Pick? Hamstrings versus Bone-Patellar-Tendon-Bone versus Quadriceps Tendon Graft for ACL Reconstruction: A Prospective Cohort Study”

     Dr. Prism S. Schneider (Calgary, AB) – “Validation of a Self-Administered Outcome Measure for Young Patients With Hip Trauma”

As well, the COF is pleased to confirm the continuation of our Community Innovation Award research competition. A call for applications will be issued in the coming months, and two awards will be granted in Fall 2018.

The expanded research program is supported by the COF’s Powering Pain Free Movement campaign, a major gifts campaign launched in January 2016. To learn more about the Powering Pain Free Movement program and its partners, visit

Take a look at our Research Impact Report.