COF announces recipient of inaugural Cy Frank Award

Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation

The Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation, in conjunction with the Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society (CORS), announces the first recipient of the new Cy Frank research award.

Dr. Frank was a long-serving Director of the COF, a respected orthopaedic surgeon, recipient of many awards and honours (including the Order of Canada) and a passionate researcher. The orthopaedic community was saddened when Dr. Frank passed away in March 2015.

In tribute to Dr. Frank, the CORS Executive approached the COF to offer a new research award, celebrating innovation — something dear to Dr. Frank’s heart. The first recipients were just announced: Drs. Bas Masri, David Wilson and David Stockton. Read about their research in the COF’s Research Impact Report. And watch for an article on the award in the next COA Bulletin.

The COF is grateful to generous industry and surgeon donors, without whom this and all other research awards would not be possible.